All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi lashed out at actor Kangana Ranut for describing India’s independence in 1947 as “bheek” or alms and the government for not taking action against her. 

In a video circulating online, Owaisi can be heard addressing a gathering in Aligarh, saying: "A mohtarma [madam] has received the highest civilian award. In an interview, she said India got Independence in 2014. Had a Muslim said what she said, UAPA would have been slapped on him. He would have been sent to jail after being shot in the knee.”

In a 24-second clip shared widely, Ranaut says India's Independence in 1947 was not freedom but "bheek" (alms). "And we got real freedom in 2014," she said at an event organised by a news channel with some people in the audience heard clapping.

After a massive backlash over her comments, Kangana Ranaut took to Instagram to share her thoughts about the controversial statements on India's Independence. She said that she would return her Padma Shri award if anyone proves that she disrespected martyrs and freedom fighters in her interview.

Owaisi said any Muslim would have been labelled a ‘traitor’. “She is a queen and you are the king. Hence, you won’t do anything,” he said, taking a dig at the Queen actor and the government.

“Baba had threatened to charge people with sedition if anyone dared to comment on the India-Pakistan (T20 World Cup) match and sent to jail,” he added, referring to Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s warning to those celebrating Pakistan's win against India in the game on October 24. He then sought to know from the UP CM and Prime Minister Narendra Modi if Kangana Ranaut would be charged with sedition. “Is sedition only for Muslims?” Owaisi asked.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2022?

Gujarat Titans
Lucknow Super Giants
Rajasthan Royals