The Hyderabad based All India Majlis Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM), which is working to expand its base in other states across the country has decided to contest the Jharkhand Assembly elections in a big way.

The 81-member Jharkhand Assembly is set to go for a five-phase election from November 30 to December 20.

Sources in the party revealed that though there is a demand from local leaders of the MIM to contest more seats, MIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi has told party leaders to concentrate on seats where the party has better chances of winning.

Jharkhand has 28 Scheduled Tribes seats and nine Scheduled Caste Assembly segments and around 20 constituencies where Muslims are predominant and their votes will be the deciding factor. 

The MIM has already announced its candidates: Bokaro: Mushkoor Siddique; Hazaribagh: Nadeem Khan; Madhupur: Iqbal Ansari; Sarath: Mumtaz Ansari; Lochardaga: Ar-jun Toppo; Latehar: Pra-deep Ganjhu; and Bishrampur: Ashrafi Chandramukhi.

Besides the above segments, the MIM is also looking at Sindri, Jamtara, Ranchi, Rajmahal, Hatia, Mahagama, Pakur, Littipada, Barhet, Maheshpur and Jamshedpur West.

Mr Owaisi told that the party’s leaders in Jharkhand are enthusiastic after the party’s maiden entry into the Bihar Assembly by winning the Kishangunj seat in the recent by-election, and they want to contest in more seats.

“We are planning to select the seats in which we have better chances of winning to make our mark in the Jharkhand Assembly,” Mr Owaisi said.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Should Metro Train and MMTS resume their services immediately for the facility of Hyderabad commuters?

Can't Say