The All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM) will contest in the Andhra Pradesh municipal elections from 47 wards where there is a sizable Muslim population. Andhra Pradesh will hold polls across 12 corporations and 75 municipalities on March 10.

The AIMIM has chosen wards spread across Adoni, Kurnool, Nandyal, Anantapur, Kadapa, Nandikotkur, Guntakal, Kadiri, Rayadurg, Hindupur, and the Vijayawada Municipal Corporation. The party has also fielded candidates across wards in areas with predominantly non-Muslim communities and has extended support for several independent candidates.

The AIMIM has a history of contesting in Andhra Pradesh regions even before the state’s bifurcation in 2014. The party in the 2014 municipal elections had won five wards in Adoni. They had also fielded candidates to contest 34 Assembly seats in both the Telugu states in 2014 but did not win any seats in Andhra Pradesh. 

As far as the Vijayawada Municipal Corporation is concerned, the party has fielded two candidates to contest from the 50th and 54th East divisions, a new move by the AIMIM.

AIMIM president and Hyderabad Member of Parliament (MP) Asaduddin Owaisi is presently touring the state as part of campaign efforts. On Friday, he extended support to the bandh opposing the Visakhapatnam steel plant.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Huzurabad bypoll election?