Jasprit Bumrah received his first Test call-up while wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel and all-rounder Hardik Pandya expectedly returned to the 17-member Indian squad for the three-match Test series in South Africa.

The Senior National selectors, who met here, seven bowlers besides medium pace all-rounder in Pandya in the team to be led by Virat Kohli. The first Test begins on January 5.

Ajinkya Rahane has been retained as the vice-captain.

The 23-year-old Bumrah has played 28 ODIS and 30 T20 internationals but is yet to feature in the longest format of the game.

The selectors also named a 15-member squad for the three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

Kohli, who who was rested for the three-match ODI series which starts after the ongoing Test series, has been left out from the T20 series as well beginning in Cuttack on December 20.

India Test squad against SA: Virat Kohli (c), K L Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Parthiv Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Burmah, Hardik Pandya.

India's T20 squad against Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, M S Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Mohd Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Which political party will form the next government in Telangana State?