KCR re-elected TRS president

Fri 21 Apr 2017, 11:56:08
Telangana State Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao was unanimously re-elected as the president of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) for a record eighth time on Friday.

Home Minister Nayani Narsimha Reddy, the returning officer for the election, announced the unanimous election at Telangana Bhavan, the party headquarters in upmarket Banjara Hills area at 9:55 AM. 

Celebrations broke out immediately after the announcement as hundreds of party workers burst crackers, distributed sweets and raised slogans hailing the Chief Minister, popularly known as KCR. Earlier, twelve different sets of nomination papers were filled by MLAs, MPs, district party presidents, MLCs and corporation chairpersons and chairpersons of agriculture market committees.

“The unanimous election took place in a peaceful atmosphere with all party leaders, cadres and workers whole-heartedly supporting KCR’s candidature. I thank all the party cadres and workers for cooperating in the election process,” Narasimha Reddy said.

KCR’s election as TRS president comes an hour ahead of the party’s plenary session being held in grand manner in suburban Kompally. The plenary session would chalk out the road-map for the way forward to place the State in a higher orbit of development.

KCR’s ultimate aim is to convert the Telangana State, once a barren and neglected region, into “Bangaru Telangana” (Golden Telangana) in the shortest possible time span.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Should Telangana govt increase the retirement age of State government employees from 58 years to 62 years?